Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Ducks, Druids and Death

Yesterday, being my day off, and having a friend staying over, I took the opportunity to go along to the Glasgow Boys exhibition at Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum.  I have to confess to being an ignoramous and something of a philistine when it comes to art: I see things I like but am not able to say why or how and sually haven't a clue what it is I'm meant to appreciate or admire in great works...

I enjoyed the exhibition greatly, and we had fun making up stories for characters in some of the paintings, wondering why the artists chose to paint people in cabbage fields or sitting under large white umbrellas (most of the umbellas didn't quite seem to work but I wouldn't know where to start).

There were many paintings that seemed to stand out, not necessarily because I liked them, but because they interested or intrigued me.  From Venetian gondolas to French pastoral scenes; from tramps (with huge feet!) on doorsteps to colourful stylised scenes of druids; from a highland funeral to lot of geese and ducks, there was plenty to ponder.

On reflection, there was nothing that I really, really liked, but plenty I enjoyed studying for a few minutes.  The druids and the funeral probably stand out as those I most connected with... which probably says something about who and what I am.  I may well go back again before the exhibition closes.  Well worth the £5 (or £3 for those of us with NUS cards)

Comments

  • Went to see the exhibition on Friday as it was raining (heavily) and thought it was wonderful - especially Guthrie. An exhibition full of ducks on a day for ducks!

The comments are closed.