Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Interpretation - And An Apology

I have had two different friends to stay recently, each of whom told me they were glad I was here to interpret the speech of shop assistants.  I have another couple of friends dropping in next week and they have been warned not to make such comments - for goodness sake this is the west of Glasgow it's hardly a strong accent.  The response of the latest was, 'yes, but you're half Scottish anyway.'  I'm not, not really, though my Mum periodically claims to be a Scot, and I'm told the SNP define a Scot as 'someone who chooses to live in Scotland' (does 'someone God sent/brought to Scotland' count?!).

Anyway, to my lovely Scots and Scottish (my Mum regularly reminds of the distinction 'people are Scots, things are Scottish' but it seems lost in much general speech) friends and neighbours I apologise for my sassenach friends.  Although I do know someone who tells me they can't always understand Estuary English and another who claims an inability to comprehend Geordies... maybe it evens out?

Comments

  • Sadly I have to say I don't think it does even out. After 22 years south of the border and with the softest of west of scotland accents, I still get people passing comment, with clearly no expectation that I should ever notice their own accent, let alone have difficulty with it. These days I can understand all but the strongest accents, but still get stumped by strange local expressions. Still, it gives us all something to talk about !!

  • Sorry, I apolgoise again for my Sassenach countryfolk. I find the further south I go the less people think they have an accent. Most people I met in Leicetsershire were convinced they didn't... m'duck.

    Did I tell you that to my ears you almost sound English in the phone these days?! Oh yes, and the referrence to 'our Tom' - very NW England!!!!!

    I'll away to my work now. ;-)

The comments are closed.