Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Twice as Nice

Yesterday my new Traidcraft catalogue arrived, as ever brim full of lovely items to persuade me to part with my money.  Amiong them was this new item, the twin doll. The idea is that you pay for two dolls (total £16) and one of them is sent to you, the other goes to a child in Zimbabwe whose life is affected by HIV.  In an age when few people knit or sew, and when food miles and carbon footprints are all the rage, this seems a great alternative to more traditional approaches.

For those who do knit, I learned yesterday of teddies for tragedies, a charity some folk at church knit for.   I have known quite a few people over the years who have knitted bears for various good causes at home and overseas, bringing smiles and sharing love.  A few 'knit and natter' type groups do exactly this kind of thing.

Recently I have been pondering what might be suitable 'church gifts' for babies brought for blessing/dedication and am quite attracted by the principle of the twin dolls whereby one is given to the child we bless and another blesses a child we'll never meet.  I wonder what others think?

The comments are closed.