Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Art

uncle stewart last supper.jpg
When this painting first appeared (in the 1970s) it caused a lot of controversy... Jesus in a pub, Celtic and Rangers supporters both among the disciples, a dog at the Last Supper...  The painting was shown on Nationwide and people offered their comments.  No-one beyond my family probably remembers this.  And we only do because we are related to the artist.

This morning I was listening to some music and flicking through some pictures I will be using on Sunday; I wondered if today a Google search would finally reveal the painting (previous endeavours having failed).

Challenge to the reader/viewer - which character in the picture is my relative (artist self portrayal) and what is the name and breed of the dog (which I recall patting when I was a child on a rare visit to Scotland... an obscure claim to fame!)

Comments

  • Interesting painting Catriona! No idea of artist's name but is he the rangers supporter with the yellowish cap? He seems to me to have distanced himself from the scene. Is ( or rather was! ) the dog a daschund? No marks out of ten please!! Jean H

The comments are closed.