Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

High

This year it is seven years since my ordination - an anniversary I will be celebrating on 6th December.  I think the reason I've being recalling that is that most of my peers settled earlier than I did and had their ordinations between June and September; now most are beginning their sabbaticals.  For various valid reasons I will be deferring mine, not least because I will only have been in Glasgow just over a year when its earliest start date (1st January 2011) arrives.  Even so, as I pondered I found myself reminded of the pop song I used to frame my 'call story' in that service (see, I was a heretic even then!) and marvelling how parts of it have again and again proved to be pertinenet at times along the way.  I was a 'late settler' and the much loved little fellowship I served certainly had its struggles and dark days whilst I was with them, but, God (sometimes the 'me' and sometimes the 'you' as I read the song; such mixing of voice is OK it matches some of the psalms!!) was with us in it all.

Of course God speaks in Scripture, in whispers, in signs and in wonders... but for me its usually most clearly in 'things that make you go, hmmm' ...

When you're close to tears remember
Some day it'll all be over
One day we're gonna get so high
And though it's darker than December
What's ahead is a different colour
One day we're gonna get so high

And at
The end of the day
remember the days
When we were close to the edge
And we'll wonder how we made it through the night
The end of the day
remember the way
We stayed so close till the end
We'll remember it was me and you

'Cause we are gonna be forever you and me
You will always keep me flying high in the sky of love

Don't you think it's time you started
Doing what we always wanted
One day we're gonna get so high
'Cause even the impossible
is easy when we got each other
One day 'we're gonna get so high

And at
The end of the day
remember the days
when we were close to the edge
And we'll wonder how we made it through the night
The end of the day
remember the way
We stayed so close to till the end
We'll remember it was me and you.

'Cause we are gonna be forever you and me
You will always keep me flying high in the sky of love (x2)


High, high, high, high.(x2)

And at
The end of the day
remember the days
when we were close to the edge
And we'll wonder how we made it through the night
The end of the day
remember the way
We stayed so close to till the end
We'll remember it was me and you.

'Cause we are gonna be forever you and me
You will always keep me flying high in the sky of love (x3)

Lyrics: Tucker, source: here

 

Even youths grow tired and weary, and young people stumble and fall; but those who hope in the LORD will renew their strength.  They will soar on wings like eagles (Isaiah 40:30-31a)

The comments are closed.