Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Happy Birthday

This morning I popped into the coffee shop opposite church for a quick latte and a sneaky piece of carrot cake (it's healthy, it has one of my five a day...) and as usual had a chat with the owners.  One of them told me that they have now been here exactly a year - it transpires we travelled from the midlands to Glasgow to begin work within days of each other, so each had assumed the other was the more 'established'.

I like the coffee shop for lots of reasons, it echoes some of what I think church is about.  The owners, John and Wayne, yes those are their names, always greet you with a smile, always make you feel you matter and give you the time you need to choose what you want.  If you are a regular, they know your name, what you prefer to drink and even what your interests are (well they know mine anyway).  Recently I was in there and an older woman was meeting a friend of hers for coffee, I overheard her telling the friend why she liked the coffee shop - 'they are my friends' she said of the owners.  Valuing people, making them feel they matter, making them feel safe, listening to their news, these are things that churches ought to do instinctively but so often we fail.  Of course sometimes things go wrong in the coffee shop, it's not perfect, but the guys work very hard to make sure it is always clean, well stocked and service reasonably quick.

Next weekend is our 'birthday' too.  Traditionally it is the church anniverary Sunday (also Dibley's as it happens) but more pertinently for me, the anniversary of my Induction.  It has been a fabulous year with lots to celebrate.

So, Happy Birthday Atrium Cafe and every blessing for the year ahead.

The comments are closed.