Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Get out of that without moving...

My penultimate service on the Bible will, I think, involve a series of shorter explorations picking up a few ideas around context (textual, sitz im leben and our own), proof-texting and the handling of tricky passages, all done under the heading of 'doilies and confetti.'

But here's the tricky bit - how I talk about proof-texting without, er, proof-texting?  I have a nice little intra-Biblical illustration, James contra Paul on use of a verse from Genesis, but then isn't that a proof-text approach to criticise proof-texts...?  Oh it's tricky!  But fun.  Tricky and fun is good.

Comments

  • Did you know you can use the bible to prove God doesn't exist?

    It says "There is no God"

    Psalm 53:1

    ;-)

    PS a minister I know says "a text without a context is a con"

The comments are closed.