Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Aspirations: DPT or MPhil NED?

Now unless you happen to live in Scotland the above may not make a whole lot of sense but it reflects some thoughts I've been having recently and a bit of my more odd-ball humour.

I spent most of yesterday breaking the back of an exercise to turn my portfolio of submissions as part of a DPT (Doctorate in Practical Theology) programme into a single submission suitable for submission as an MPhil, ostensibly under the same regulations.  My cunning plan involves writing little linking theological reflections, based on a pastoral cycle, between the items to show how each emerged (honest guv) from the one before, or at least from something the one before made me think about.  Irrespective of what I think/thought about the programme, had I not been diagnosed with cancer I would have slogged on to the end and hopefully got a doctorate out of it.  As it is there is no way I could guarantee being fit to resume studies in a year's time, the requirement to intercalate, and to be brutally honest, such studies are no longer a priority.  Situations change - as I will note in my final reflective chapter - and with them my aspirations.  To be MPhil NED seems a better aspiration right now.

NED?  Non Educated Delinquent?  A term of mild abuse used in Scotland to describe the same kind of people who might be termed Chavs further south.  A term that is a stereotype for people whose response to lack of opportunity and education amuses those who have had both.  I aspire to be a NED?  Yes!  Because it also stands for "No Evidence of Disease" which is as good as it ever gets for someone who had been diagnosed with breast cancer.  There is no 'all clear', though if you make it to ten years NED then probably you are.  Yes, to be a NED sounds good right now.

Who knows, one day I might return to my research and get yet more letters to add to my collection (though if you want to become a Revd Dr/Rev Dr the cheapest and easiest I've found, accidentally, is to write Revd as your title on an English heritage application form!) but for now MPhil NED will do nicely... and the latter is a stronger aspiration than the former.

Comments

  • Catriona, you were prayed for in East Jerusalem Baptist Church this morning during a time when we were encouraged to name those who needed God's special touch. Blessings from the Holy Land.

  • I am a Rev Dr and a fat lot of good it did me in pastorate. OK - my PhD is in Organic Chemistry, but still ...

    Far more important than your academic qualifications is who you are in Christ; towards God, towards other believers and towards those who may or may not be exploring faith at this time.

    I continue to pray for you in your illness and treatment, that God will both bless you and make you a blessing to others.

  • In my bit of the NHS, NED stands for non-executive director. I have occasionally reflected on the Scottish meaning after some very lively Board meetings!!

    Praying you get to be described as the best kind of NED in a few months.

The comments are closed.