Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

That's Entertainment!

Yesterday evening we had a male voice choir singing at church as a fund-raiser towards the building re-devleopment fund.  It was an enjoyable evening and the choir offered a varied programme of light music.  It did have a few moments that were entertaining in ways perhaps not intended, but for me that added rather than detracted.

Here are a few of the more bizarre moments...

In introducing a soloist to sing 'On the Street Where You Live' the MD said that the musical was called My Fair Lady as an attempt by the writer to mimic a cockney saying Mayfair, except he said 'Mayfair' in such a scrambled way that no one could possibly have made the connection.  Probably best not to try to sound Cockney with a Glasgow accent...

For me, it was slightly surreal to hear a choir of Scots singing the Men of Harlech with gusto - especially when via the lyrics they were claiming to be Welsh!  Very weird.

The piece de resistance for me was the announcement of the last item 'a great Welsh hymn and our signature tune' - When I Survey the Wondrous Cross.  Sorry folks, Isaac Watts was English.  Granted the tune used may have been Welsh, but no Welshman would claim Watts as one one of their own.

There were some brave choices, notably a solo of 'The Music of the Night' from The Phantom of the Opera which is far from easy to sing, and some that took me in my mind to various crematoria, such as 'Unchained Melody' and 'Danny Boy' as well as one that I last sang when I was about 8, the 'Eriskay Love Lilt'.  All in all quite an enjoyable evening.

Next time I think we should have our own choir and some of our gifted musicians performing.  What d'you reckon?

The comments are closed.