Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Can you help?

Planning for our Carol Service is well in hand and it's going to be great.  One tricky bit is my desire that we find a poem that gives a Joseph perspective on the annunciation (and beyond) - perhaps based on the dream he had in which he was told not to divorce Mary.  A trawl of my poem books and the web has turned up nothing suitable, and the general response from the networks into which my co-planner has links is 'hmm, that's an interesting idea' (or words to that effect).

I'm not asking people to write something for us, I am just wondering it anyone knows of anything already published that we could use?  We don't want twee and we don't want too heavy... so it's a simple task...

If you can help please leave a comment.

Thank you.

Comments

  • There's a couple in Hay & Stardust and Joseph's diary in Cloth for Cradle?

  • Or for a slightly different approach, you could try "Joseph's Song" by Michael Card. It is a lovely song, or it might even stand being read as a poem.

  • I have Cloth for the Cradle (Wild Goose Publication). There is a "diaries of Joseph and Theodore". More of a sketch than a poem.

    Or someone else was telling me about Nick Fawcet's carol service mediations (not sure of title).

  • The above or Nick Fawcett ' No Ordinary Man 1 and 2 - 2 has Joseph reflecting on his dream No 7 page 37

  • Yes Nick Fawcett: No Ordinary Man 1&2
    2 has Joseph reflecting on his dream p.37
    (sorry if this is a duplicate post - first one doesn't seem to have gone through|)

  • Thank you!
    I have Nick Fawcett's books - his are a bit long for what we want
    I am sure we can readily find 'Cloth for the Cradle' being where we are...
    Is the Michael Card from 'The Promise' (or is it 'The Virgin'? A musical thing from the last 1980s early 1990s)? If so I have the cassette at home somewhere! I knew I kept all those old tapes for a reason....

The comments are closed.