Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Power?

This morning the power went off at church, at least most of it did.  And of course Toddlers were in, so a cold church is not a good idea.  Amazingly the power in the kitchen survived so they could get hot drinks (well their mums/carers could) and they were happy to carry on, sitting in their coats while the children raced round having fun.

Meanwhile I checked every trip switch, every circuit board, every breaker... phoned people to find where the extra ones might be hidden and now know far more about the church power supplies than I ever wished to know!

Having checked everything at least twice, I ventured over the road to the coffee shop to discover they had the same scenario - but just as I reached the counter, zap the power came back on... You either got the power or you don't!  For that moment I did.

Been an interesting week... the heating (now sorted) the 'external hazard' of snow load in the roof (still monitoring; I'll write the book one day) and now the 'loss of grid'.  Keeps me entertained, holds all my past and present together in a way only God can do, and just shows those who said to me either 'maybe God's calling you to be a missionary engineer' or 'fancy that, God usually calls people from caring professions not industry' that actually God does know what the church (or those churches I get called to) needs... a girlie rev who's not phased by the realities of Victorian barns.

Comments

  • Not to mention knowing what are the implications of a three phase electricity supply!

The comments are closed.