Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Taking Advent at a Sensible Pace

Today the pavements outside my home are decidely icy, though there are bits of near virgin snow if you look for them.  Having to see my GP for some test results, I gingerly threaded my way up the hill in my wellies - definitely a sight for sore eyes.  Walking slowly, taking time to look where my feet went, keeping safe (I really do not need broken bones to add to my fun) and arriving intact at the right time... it seemed a bit like a metaphor for Advent done well.

As I look at various Advent resources, I keep finding people running on ahead - already in Bethlehem, some already with a baby in a manger, some already singing lustily the carols that really ought to be kept in abeyance just a little longer.  Psychologically it's good to build anticipation and tension - to have people aching for the moment that Christmas begins.  Liturgically it's good to take time to travel the journey through scripture visiting prophets and prcolaimers, meeting angels and seeing how the 'big story' sweeps through time.

At church we were given a nativity set - the usual characters and animals all waiting to be placed in a scene.  But we are moving slowly, thoughtfully, sensibly, even gingerly along the path to Christmas.  On Sunday we had just Mary and the angel; next week we will bring in Joseph... and there must be a pause, a waiting until Chiristmas for the storty to develop.  On Advent 4 we may add the ox and ass, signifiying the stable, but baby Jesus will be held back until Christmas Day.  The shepherd (there's only one) will follow, probably on Boxing Day and the wise men (three) will have to wait until nearer Epiphany (though we might start them off in a different part of the church before then).

Advent is not a race, not a mad dash, and Christmas should be the longed-for culmination of aching waiting.  So, whilst I'll continue to enage with those resources that run on ahead, I will stroll along in my wellies, crunching the snow beneath my feet and straining to glimspe the hint of what lies just beyond the horizon.  Advent at a sensible pace.

Comments

  • AMEN
    Just advent carols and Advent candles for me till 19th when decorations go up and we have to sing Christmas carols for the carol service....

The comments are closed.