Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

John the Joy-bringer

Today I have been reading the passages on John the Baptiser which will inform Sunday's sermon.  What struck me as never before was the frequent use of the word 'joy' in these bits of Luke and John.

Here is Luke 1:14, part of the message given to Zechariah, and old priest who was childless...

You will have joy and gladness, and many will rejoice at his birth, for he will be great in the sight of the Lord. (NRSV)

I think that's just a beautiful little verse, one I've read and never seen before.  It is so human, acknowledging perhaps Zechariah's secret yearnings for completion and acceptance in a society where progeny signified piety/righteousness.  Before anything else, this child will delight his parents.  I kind of like that.

We are also using part of John 3 where Baptiser-John speaks of his own joy.  I wonder what he learned from his parents that helped him delight in another's greatness, content to be who he was?  Sure he had his moments of darkness and doubt (eg Luke 7 which we aren't using) but reading today I see not a scary doom-prophet but a bringer of joy... for me a new take on Jordanside Baptiser.

The comments are closed.