Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Soap Sensitivity

Every now and then I watch the odd episode of River City the Glasgow-based soap broadcast only in Scotland.  At the moment they have an ovarian cancer storyline and yesterday this was one of the central themes as the character began to come to terms with her chemotherapy and its inevitable effects on her hair.  I felt it was very sensitively handled and the moments when she was pulling out odd strands of hair had a real resonance.  There was a scene where she challenged the patronising speech of her local MP (MSP? not sure which) and I found myself thinking 'you tell 'em girl!'  (An aside, I think there was a fact error, though I'd have to listen again to confirm this, where they said 1 in 3 women get breast cancer when it is actually 1 in 9).  The most poignant part was the closing scene where the character was having her head shaved by her husband; although it was obvious (to me anyway) that this was fake, the sound of the clippers and the panning around the photos in her home was incredibly moving - and why when I reached that point I chose to have it done at a hairdressers.  Scarlett is a feisty character and I feel a good 'ambassador' for real women facing cancer treatment.

Ovarian cancer is the 'silent killer,' and has claimed the lives of two women I counted friends, so it is good that it is being made part of a central storyline.  I hope, though, that the script writers are willing to allow the story to unfold in real time - the chemo part ought to last around four months, the hair loss part at least eight and then see her emerge with very short hair.  Too often we are impatient with story lines seeking quick resolution.  Obviously this is one storyline among many and it will recede into the background - but I will be hacked off if in a couple of months time we see the character with her hair long again.

You can check out the episode here, at least for seven days from this post... English readers may want to campaign for Shieldinch to shown in your neck of the woods (subtitles available if your language skills aren't up to it!!)

Comments

  • A lot of people talking about this episode today at work so it give the subject airing.............by the way that's our Laura playing the bagpipes 38 minutes into the episode...........

The comments are closed.