Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Celebrating the Sofa of Silliness

I just discovered, via PAYG, that today is the Feast of the Chair of St Peter.  Wondering just what on earth this was, I resorted to that fount of all all dodgy information, Wikepedia, which assures me that there are relics venerated as chairs (cathedra) upon which the Apostle Peter sat.  It also tells me that by synecdoche (no I didn't know what it meant either) it becomes essentially a celebration of the papal office.  Not a feast a good dissenting Bappy is going to mark!  But it did put me in mind of another possibility, born of my expereince as a member of a House Group in the late 1990s. 

Our hosts had two settees.  The one on which I sat became known as the 'silly settee' because we would make flippant remarks (I recall us all saying 'yeah, right' when an elderly King David needed a beautiful young virgin simply to keep him warm at night; 1 Kings 1:1-2 (v 4 assures us of his chastity, so clearly ancient readers thought likewise!)), we would see the funny side of either the passage or the questions in the leader's 'Big Book of Questions' (it was called something like 'Search Ye the Scriptures' and consisted of loads of questions on every book of the Bible - and no answers!), and sometimes we would push the envelope on topics like predestination or religiously sanctioned genocide.  The 'Silly Settee' was an important part of my growth in disicpleship and a place I recall fondly for those who shared it and the fun we had in the studies.

So I hereby declare today the 'Celebration of the Sofa of Silliness' a liturgical commemoration of the role of group discussion in the ongoing formation of disicples of Christ.

Comments

  • I remember those times as though they were yesterday. Ohhh perhaps it was yesterday as we still meet on a Monday for a session of silliness, sorry bible study.

  • One of those settees still lives in our house! The other was given away a few years ago to someone with an acute settee shortage, so I don't know where it is now, but I do like the thought of celebrating them and all that happened when we sat on them. Those were good days.

The comments are closed.