Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

WIP

One of the things that has taken me by surprise since my surgery is how utterly rubbish my concentration has been.  Trying to read anything longer than a page or so or to take in a TV porogramme over 30 minutes long is a disaster, so I have a big pile of books and DVDs waiting for me to recover the wherewithall to appreciate their loan.

I was also lent two jigsaws and the one I'm working on seems to be doing the work of rebuilding my ability to focus and concentrate (phew!  I didn't want to be dozy and distracted for the rest of my life).  I find I can sit, backache notwithstanding, for a couple of hours at a time and work at a section of the picture.  Maybe a 1000 piece puzzle is a bit adventurous for the first one in 40 years, but I'm getting there!

After about 12 hours I've got this far...

001.JPG

There is, I am sure, a good reflection on building church or growing as disciples lurking in there somewhere.  I used the metaphor of a jigsaw as the basis for a section of my (now nearly ready to submit) MPhil - and one of the uspervisors then pinched it for her own use; I think it is quite a good metaphor for research - you need firm boundaries, explore specific areas and then make links to build the image.   Anyway, it's keeping me out of mischief and occupied!

Comments

  • Children's books or books you know really well are good for when concentration is rubbish. Enid Blyton or the like - make no demands on the brain!

The comments are closed.