Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

The Eye of the Beholder

It is a glorious morning in Glasgow - lovely blue sky and sunshine making the buildings glow; it is a day when it feels good to be alive.  But what is 'beautiful'?  Here are three photos from my living room window (focus a little sus in some of them, the lens drive on my camera got damaged when it toppled onto a hard surface recently):

 

001.JPG

 

Across the roof-tops to distant hills (the Campsie fells), always 'magical' as depending on weather conditions the hills can completely vanish one day or you can see every fold quite clearly another.

 

002.JPG

 

Towards the road junction where different areas of Glasgow allegedly meet.  The end of my development of 'yuppy' flats, the garage where my car was serviced, a residential care home and some high rise flats.  The diversity and cheek-by-jowl nature is, for me beautiful in its own distinctive way.

 

003.JPG

The Beatson West of Scotland Cancer Centre - a place where I have spent many hours and have many more to spend.  Not a pretty building but it has an inner beauty maybe?

Beauty is definitely in the eye of the beholder.  But if we have eyes to see it, I suspect there is always some beauty to be seen.

 

The comments are closed.