Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

For Fun... Dull Sermons

I lent my copy of this little book to one of my choir last year - and last I knew it was still making its way round the choir...

Dull sermon book.jpgInterpret as you will! 

Later editions are available.

So this one from Archdruid Eileen amused me.

All of which reminds me of the joke I first heard way back in the 1970's and which still crops up from time to time...

A minister was being shown the new church building, equipped with every modern gadget.  As he (it was the 1970's afterall) walked into the worship space he noticed there were no seats, and commented on this.  The steward pressed a button and up popped a row of seats right at the front of the church.  The steward explained that until this row was filled no more seats would appear but, once it was, this row would glide backwards and a new row would appear in front of it.  So it went on... devices to ensure good singing, good coffee, etc. etc.

Finally the minister approached the lectern/pulpit.  It was fully adjustable for height, had plenty of space for his papers and Bible; overhead was an illuminated sign that flashed 'listen' as he began to speak.  Wow, he said, this is marvellous.  Ah yes, said the steward but the best bit is the auto-timer... if the sermon exceeds twenty minutes a trapdoor opens and the preacher disappears...

I'm sure others tell it better but it still makes me smile.

Comments

  • I have got this book too! Found it the other week and re-read it. Some of it is a bit dated but still funny

  • Bovver. Unoriginality strikes. I'd better drop the trapdoor.

The comments are closed.