Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

One Song to the Tune of Another

It's funny how sometimes you hear something new (to you anyway) and then it keeps popping up all over the place.  Recently in a conversation about 'one song to the tune of another' someone mentioned singing Amazing Grace to the tune of the House of the Rising Sun.  Today I heard it on the radio... and it keeps being mentioned.

I found a version of it here, accompanied by images that juxtapose KJV texts with images of 'the House of the Rising Sun'.  There is a poignancy and profundity to setting words about 'grace' to a tune associated with a song about 'failure and regret'.  See what you think

Comments

  • Back in my early teens [before Judy Collins got Amazing Grace into the charts] we used to sing the 23rd psalm to this tune at our youth group. But I have noticed lately that the AG version keeps popping up everywhere.
    The version you link to is v thought provoking

  • Last week we had some visiting musicians at church so I got to sit in the congregation. They had us sing When I survey the wondrous cross to a tune I know as "The water is wide" (from my parent's Seeker's albums). I really liked it, not least because singing famililar words to a different tune somehow makes you actually hear the words in a new way.

    It sounds like this is a bit of a trend at the moment...

  • Hi Elaine,
    I know and like that setting - as you say it makes one think about the words more. The name I know for that tune is 'O Waly, Waly' (with a long A sound)!

    We had your former minister's predecessor yesterday, so I was thinking of you.

    Was it Booth that was into this approach of singing hymns to popular tunes? Nothing new under the sun...

  • "While Shepherds Watched Their flocks by night" will also go to the tune of "House of the Rising Sun"

    Which must mean that "Amazing Grace" will go to the tune of "Ilkley Moor" - one for hymn singing in a pub, I feel :)

  • I just checked - Amazing Grace is Common Metre (CM, aka 86 86) so I guess there's a whole raft of possibilties.

    What we actually need is a metrical index of pop/folk song tunes to help us out ... anyone able to oblige?!

  • Away in a manger will go to the wombling song, as does Immortal invisible, God only wise

    While shepherds to the tune of Ilkley Moor is rather fun too

    Of course, the tune "Kingsfold" for I heard the voice of Jesus say is actually Star of the County Down (and you can sing O for a thousand tongues to the same tune)

    and the Wild Goose Worship have some rather interesting folk/celtic things eg magnificat to "Will ye go lassie go"

The comments are closed.