Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

The Moon is Round...

... and very large, and glowingly golden, and extremely beautiful.

Yesterday I heard on the radio that the moon would unusually large last night because it was especially close to earth and also full.  It was a very cloudy night but the moon deigned to peep out briefly in all its shiny loveliness.

I love to look at the moon.  To do so connects me with my own past and with the ancients who also gazed in wonder at this orb in the sky.  It connects me with people I know and love in other places on this strange and wonderful planet we call home.  And it connects me with the future, when, long after I am forgotten, new generations will look skywards and see its simple beauty.

All of which reminds me of a rather twee Sunday school song of yesteryear...

I love the sun

It shines on me

God made the sun

And God made me

 

I love the stars

They twinkle on me

God made the stars

And God made me

 

I love the rain

It splashes round me

God made the rain

And God made me

 

I love the wind

It blows round me

God made the wind

And God made me

 

I love the birds

They sing to me

God made the birds

And God made me

Gwen F. Smith

 

To which I'll add...

 

I love the moon

In its beauteous mystery

God made the moon

And God made me

 

Of course I don't think many under fives would know what 'beauteous mystery' mean in words but they'd sure as anything get the concept.

The comments are closed.