Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

On Baptist Women and Preaching

My spy across the pond sent me this link to a newly published book on English (sorry Scots/Waleans/Irish readers) Baptist women preachers in the 17th century.  No, that's not a typo, 17th century.  Somewhere along the line English Baptists lost their way over this until the early 20th century when, although they have struggled with it ever since, they rediscovered this heritage.  Here in Caledonia it's a different tale but maybe in four hundred years time (!) someone will tell the stories of M and F who have preached so excellently and authentically at the Gathering Place.

Alas at $69.95 US plus postage it's too dear to justify buying - but if the BHS would like to send me a copy to review...!

Comments

  • I think we could safely add a C and an R to your list of authentic women preachers at the Gathering Place.

  • Dear C,I am wondering what sort of Baptist History your college taught. when I studied baptist history for a badge in GB, back in the 60's, there were plenty of references to the early women preachers in the books I read. And Samuel Pepys mentions listening to them [and his biographer Claire Tomalin refers to that] I'm a third generation woman preacher, and have women preachers in my family back to victorian times. As a Baptist, I believe passionately in the priesthood of ALL believers.
    I wonder if it is that you are confusing 'preachers' with 'ordained ministers'? sorry for the rant, but I start getting twitchy when people imply a preacher doesnt count if they havent been through a 'service of ordination.' and even more irritated when the wonderful heritage we have as Baptists appears to have been forgotten by the colleges who should be teaching about it!!
    love and blessings x

  • Thanks Ian!

    Hi Ang, there are indeed plenty of references to women preachers (no, I don't mean ordained ministers) in the Baptist history books I used at college - I even wrote an essay on the role of women in Baptist life as one of my mandatory essays. The story in Scotland is very different from that in England and in many churches up here women are not allowed to preach. I now have a blog audience that includes a lot of Scots which may explain the tome of my post ... and I'm still the only ordained Baptist woman in pastoral charge of a church up here, and one of only about six in the country along with a similar number of women lay preachers. Hens teeth don't come a whole lot rarer!

The comments are closed.