Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Silver Linings?

A silver lining is not a reason, justification or explanation of something bad, unpleasant or downright awful, rather it is something positive that is discerned or determined within it.  It doesn't make everything right not does it deny the reality which can be, for some people, very, very grim.  Finding silver linings is not playing Pollyanna's 'glad game', it's just seeing things that brighten the darkness, lift the spirits, delight the heart.  Yuk, this sounds like bad poetry written out as prose!  Anyway, I guess what I'm trying to say is that silver linings are good things that might not have been experienced otherwise.

Today I am singing with the church choir again, something that I very rarely have opportunity to do, and something that I don't think is feasible or appropriate when I'm leading worship.  I am singing alto - which for me is quite brave as I'm not that confident in my ability to read and hold a part that's not the melody (in the hymns I revert to soprano, not hope of singing the 'underneath' of something I've known for 40 years).  It is fun to sing with our choir; people self-select, our MD is endlessly patient and gracious and there is is always an element of the unknown -  just sometimes he will throw the choir something complicated at short notice.

This evening is a united service with our C of S friends for Palm Sunday and the choirs of the various churches are uniting to lead the music.  I have been learning alto parts on and off all week for some of the material we'll be singing.  It should be fun - and it should help us catch something of the atmosphere as we move into Holy Week.

This morning's service has been written by our Sunday School and is a dramatised reading of events from Palm Sunday on into Holy Week.  Our Sunday School is small and most of the children very young, so it's not an easy undertaking.  However, I am looking forward to sharing their enjoyment of the moment as we travel in our imaginations to Jerusalem at festival time.

Next Sunday I'm back up front... not that I'm counting the days or anything!

Comments

  • Sounds a good way to mark Palm Sunday, Catriona. When visiting our daughter I usually go to choir practice and sing with their very small choir on the Sunday morning - something I really enjoy.

  • You know what they say - a soprano is an alto who can't read music ;-)

    (Guess who else is an alto (or even a tenor)?)

  • And of course you have Maundy Thursday and Good Friday first.

The comments are closed.