Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

On Not Heading for Blackpool

This week most of my Baptist blogger friends, being mostly in BUGB churches, are getting ready to head to Blackpool for the annual jamboree that is Baptist Assembly (in England).  This year I can't be there as I have to be here, partly in order to be nuked and partly because even if the nuking had been over with it would have been too much, too soon.  I will miss Assembly, being one of those odd people who loves it, but it is right to be here instead, and not just for personal, medical reasons.

One of my best loved Gatherers, who happens to be one of my predecessors, is very ill in hospital, and I want to be close enough to visit him and to spend time with his family who are also part of our church.  It is a privilege to be allowed into anyone's life when they are so vulnerable; it is a special privilege when that person is a loved and respected former minister.

This Sunday we have an infant blessing for a child who is almost three, a little older than the average.  A celebration that has been postponed more than once due to adverse circumstances.  This Sunday it will finally go ahead, even though not everyone the parents would love to share the event can make it.   It will be our second infant blessing since my diagnosis last August, and pretty neatly helps to 'book end' the treatment.  It has a feel of something 'right' about it at a personal and community level as well as being a delight to share with the family.  And no, before you ask, I won't be mentioning the 'book end' effect in the service; it's not about me.

So, whilst I'd love to be heading to Blackpool to be inspired and infuriated, to meet up with other bloggers and old friends, I know beyond any doubt that I am in the right place being here in Glasgow.  I may get around to making a bingo card for those heading to the sea-side (I keep wanting to say south then realise it's north for most of them!) with BUGB cliches to check off, but if not I'm sure they can make their own.

Oh, and if they sing that song think of me and smile!

Next year I'll be back...

Comments

  • Never fear, we'll be thinking of you [esp if we sing THAT song!!] have a good weekend yourself x

  • Was that song by any chance...

    How great is our God (this song)
    Sing with me (whether you like it or not)
    How great is this song (*ahem* I mean "God")
    And all will sing (endlessly and until the BSL interpreters' arms are killing them) How great, how great...

    Save me!

  • Erm, no, but that probably comes in a close second.

    It's 'these are the days of...' oh no they aren't!

  • Hi, we shall miss you but understand that your place is in Glasgow. Hope you have a good Sunday dedication service. Hope to catch up sometime soonish.

  • Have a good time Lucy. Hope to see you soon in real life... at the very latest at next year's Assembly!

  • You will be missed. As long as they do not sing the song when the handshakers are going on stage we should be okay!

    Peace Richard

  • Thanks Richard.... regarding the handshakers... my thoughts exactly! Memories!!

  • The BSL for days of Elijah is entertaining too - I still haven't worked out how on earth to do it, as I don't understand what the song means! But I'm afraid "he comes, riding on the clouds" turns into "he-comes-down in glory" when I sign it. But I have seen some very interesting cloud-riding signs!
    It's strange how some phrases which aren't too bad in English are a nightmare in BSL. My personal bete noir is "all who are thirsty" - the line "dip your heart in the stream of life" gives me a very unhelpful image....

  • We missed you and no - that song did not appear unless it was after I left as we had such a long journey we missed the final part!

  • No, we didn't get 'that song'. But we did get 'how great is this song', 'we could be singing this song forever' (over the mountains and far away), the above mentioned heart dipping, and we even got the dance settee!!!!!!!!!!! - thought of you and smiled ;-)

  • Glad you all had a good time! Hope the BSL interpretters have recovered from signing "ever and ever and ever and ever and ever" (RSI a good possibility I'd have thought) and that the settee was duly danced upon!

The comments are closed.