Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Half Way

Today would be the halfway mark of my nuking if not for the fact that the nuking chamber is closed today.  According to one of the radiographers this is a coincidence, as it is due for routine maintenance, and she will be in work anyway.  One of the folk in my exercise class is being herceptin-ed today so clearly the chemo suites are open.  Apparently all the doctors get the Bank holiday so there are no clinics, admissions or nuke planning sessions.

However, for my metaphor of crossing the river on stepping stones it is near enough half way to justify a pause to admire the view!  When I cross real rivers, by bridge, by stepping stones or, very occasionally, by wading (I've never swum across one) I usually stop in the middle to look up and down stream.  So today I am treating as that pause (albeit one step early!).

So far the nuking effects have not been too bad.  Inevitable erythema, mild nausea that passes in a couple of hours and, until yesterday, no sign of fatigue or tiredness.  I was warned it could take a couple of weeks to begin and it has done.  Nothing major, as yet, just a sense that by tea time I'd done quite enough for one day.  Time will tell if it gets worse or if it is just evening weariness.

And I can also look forward - only 13 more zaps to the other side, just three weeks to the end of active treatment, only twenty days to relative freedom.

And today I am also half way to my £500 target for the SHINE Glasgow half marathon thanks to Ayrshire A&D.  I have three Gatherers set to walk with me, two women to raise money for breast cancer research and one man to raise money for research into childhood cancers.  Should you wish to sponsor me just click the big blue button at the top right of my blog and it will take you to my fundraising page.  You can donate anonymously or pseudonymously so it's ideal for anyone who prefers not to be public about this.

And today as someone who is merely ambivalent about events in London, and who isn't able to get to Blackpool for an equal sized gathering, I will be out for the day with a couple of friends enjoying the fine weather and celebrating life.  Undoubtedly I'll catch the edited highlights (of both events) at some point but am happy to be doing what I'm doing, pausing before the final 'push' across the River of Radiation.

The comments are closed.