Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Just a Cold

I have a cold.  Normally no great cause for comment.  But it is actually nice to have something 'normal'  - a cold - rather than something alarming like febrile neutropenia (which I thankfully never experienced) or an infection requiring immediate A&E action.

I think the signficance struck me on Saturday night when I felt the cold beginning and checked my temperature - absolutely normal - and recalled the last time this occured, in January, having a temperature of 38.5 and spending half a day at A&E before being given strong antibiotics.

Just a cold!  A nuisance, as it means I can't visit my sick people in their hospitals.  A nuisance as it means I sniff and sneeze and cough, and am conerned in case I do any of these at the wrong moment of the zapping process.  A nuisance, but a nice, normal, ordinary kind of nuisance.

I'm guessing I may be more susceptible to colds, etc. for a while having had my immune system hammered at the back end of last year, but at least I can now fight them off like anyone else.

Just a cold... hurrah!

The comments are closed.