Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Survivor Guilt Guilt

Yes, I did mean to type 'guilt' twice.

As I already posted, I had a great time at the Tall Ships, wandering around, listening to a brass quintet, admiring birds of prey, chuckling at the antics of entertainers, smiling at excited children, smelling the salty air, slowly melting in the sun...

Then I had an attack of survivor guilt as I found myself thinking of people I knew/know who would have loved it but who couldn't have gone either because they have left this world or becuase their illness or disability makes it impossible.

And then I felt guilty because I felt guilty and I knew that these specific people would delight in my enjoyment, just as I do in that of others who do things I can't do any more.

Not planning to beat myself up over this, just noting the reality.

 

Comments

  • A relative of my Catholic guilt squared I think - the guilt for the guilt I feel every once in a while for not going to Mass on a Sunday...

The comments are closed.