Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Tall Ships and a Star... {Part Deux}

Not sure why the curly brackets, it was a typing slip but it looked good so I left it in.

Had a great time at the Tall Ships which was brilliantly organised.  Extra-long trains had been laid on from Glasgow (though you had to be in the front five coaches cos the platfrom at Bogston is short!) and as soon as you got off the train people were on hand to direct you towards the event.  A pedestrian route with police acting as crossing-wardens ensured swift progress to the event.  The sun was shining and it was hot when I arrived - so very glad of my sun hat and factor 50.

I joined dozens of other people sitting in the middle of a traffic roundabout for my picnic - how often do you get the opportunity to do that - before wandering along admiring the ships.  I opted not to tour any of them - they were very crowded - but enjoyed the atmosphere and some of the entertainment on offer.

So, a few photos:

014.JPG

007.JPG

This one gives a general hint of what it was like to see so many sialing vessels moored in one place.

 

 

 

 

This one, T S Royalist, belongs to the sea cadets and both of my brothers sailed on her in the late 1970s

009.JPG

 

 

 

 

This one is a reminder of the international nature of the event and the fact that people may want to enter the UK without proper papers.

 

 

 

 

006.JPG

This one just because I like cranes.  I know, it's weird... 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 And a star or two... a post from Annie via Chez that is well worth a look see

 

 

The comments are closed.