Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Graduation

An email today confirming my graduation date from the University of Manchester, and the 'degree I get in my forties'.  So 16th December, just three days before my 49th birthday, I will be prancing about in MPhil robes being, as far as I can ascertain, the only person ever to get the degree I'm getting as the programme closed to new entrants and I took the exit qualification to ensure I at least completed.  I recall when I signed up for this thinking I'd have a degree in each decade of my adult life and wondering what my fifties might herald in terms of learning and growing.  I guess opting for an MPhil now means that if I stay NED, there is still the potential for a PhD in my fifties...  We'll see.

Anyway, for now I am very grateful to the secret benefactor who has offered to take me to graduate, and look forward to the pre-birthday present of a day in my much-loved city of Manchester.

Comments

  • Trying again to comment to say many congratulations, Catriona. Have a wonderful day and enjoy your very justified sense of achievement.

  • It worked!!! O happy day :-)

  • I think it likes you better than it does me!

The comments are closed.