Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Nada Te Turbe

Around this time last year, this prayer by Theresa of Avila became very precious to me, one I used to sing myself to sleep with (or at least try to get to sleep with) in its Taize setting in some of my most scared and vulnerable moments.

Nada te turbe
Nada te espante
Quien a Dios tiene nada le falta
Solo Dios basta
Todo se pasa
Dios no se muda
La paciencia todo lo alcanza

Let nothing disturb you,
nothing afright you.
Whom God possesses
in nothing is wanting.
Alone God suffices.
All things are passing.
God never ceases.
Patient endurance attains all things.

Today's PAYG used a Margaret Rizza setting of the words, which was very beautiful, and then, hunting for the words I stumbled on this setting, which is achingly haunting (at least to me)

Right now I'm tired and tetchy, taking things far too personally, in real need of my few days away... It is good to be reminded of this prayer and to seek comfort in the shelter of its promises.

The comments are closed.