Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Farewell Prestidigitater

News reached me yesterday evening that another of the people I came to know and love in Dibley has died after a short illness, bringing to an end an era within that little church.  Sadly his wife is also quite unwell at the moment, and in recent days the two were in separate hospital wards (possibly separate hospitals, I'm not sure).

This former Sunday School superintendent (long before my time!) was also a member of the Magic Circle and had, until not that many years ago, regularly performed his tricks at church socials.  I recall him telling me that at the time he asked his wife to marry him, coming to his church (she had been a Methodist) and accepting his membership of the Magic Circle were non-negotiable!

The first year I was at Dibley, for the evening service on harvest festival, I invited people to bring along something that symbolised their own 'harvest' and to be willing to explain it.  Sadly, I didn't explain myself well enough, and a lot of what came were artifacts from decades past rather than recent activity.  This man brought his Magic Circle certificate and explained that 'to see the smile on the face of a child' was what it was about for him.

I never saw him perform his conjuring tricks, by the time I arrived his fingers were already too stiff and his mind beginning to slow down, but there will be many who look back fondly on the days when his prestidigitation entertained and amazed them.

RIP RC, go now to your eternal rest.

The comments are closed.