Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Fourth Week in Advent: Thursday

Today's readings:

Psalm 1: 1- 3

Jeremiah 17:7-8

Matthew 13: 3 - 6

Spookily, after I opted yesterday to go with the mustard seed parable, each of today's verses has a bit of a tree theme!  Both the psalm and the Jeremiah have the righteous person compared to a tree growing by a stream, where it flourishes.  The Matthew gives us a bit of the parable of the sower/soils/seed, stopping hsort with the seed that falls on the rocky places and is parched.

So, if today I stay with the part parable, we get this:

Then Jesus told them many things in parables, saying: “A farmer went out to sow his seed.  As he was scattering the seed, some fell along the path, and the birds came and ate it up.  Some fell on rocky places, where it did not have much soil. It sprang up quickly, because the soil was shallow.  But when the sun came up, the plants were scorched, and they withered because they had no root.”

Rather than love being the seed or the plant/shrub/tree, what about love as that which is necesaary for the healthy growth of the said vegetation?  Love as a the stream that provides water, the soil that offers nutrients and cover, the sun that warms the shoots and enables photosynthesis?  What about love in many guises (water, food, shelter, warmth, etc) that enables us to reach our potential?  And if some of that is absent - physical or metaphorical hunger, cold, exposure - how is our gorwth stunted or destroyed?

A quick gander in HymnQuest (not finding the contemporary song for which I was looking, shows there are a fair few which speak of the 'stream(s) of God's love' of which this one seemed to stirke a chord depsite its antiquated language and idiom:

Make channels for the streams of love,
Where they may broadly run;
For love has overflowing streams
To fill them every one.

But if at any time we cease
Such channels to provide,
They very founts of love for us
Will soon be parched and dried.

For we must share if we would keep
That blessing from above;
Ceasing to give we cease to have-
This is the law of love.

Richard C Trench (1807-1886)

And so to my own response...

 

God of love

Living water, flowing like an endless stream

Let me dip my feet into its coolness

Let me gulp in mouthfulness of its refreshing

Let me splash delightedly in its shallows

Let me swim in its depths


Let it wash away my faitgue

My dryness


Let it fill my heart, mind and soul

My emptiness


Let me fill a bucket and carry it,

Spilling over the rim

To share with others


Literally

Metaphorically


Needing their own

Refreshment

Cleansing

Delighting


God, source of love

God, love incarnate

God, let us drink from you again


Amen

 



Comments

  • Thank you - that is a beautiful response! may I use it in our Chapel?

  • Hi Sue, wow, yes, of course... be honoured...

The comments are closed.