Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Education Sunday

Today is a first for us at church, at least in my time here...

Today we/I hand over the reigns to our students to lead worship for Education Sunday.  This is a really exciting, and everso slightly risky, undertaking.  I am not too concerned, since I know that most of them are very familair with leading, or participating in the leading of, public worship.  I know that they have planned meticulously (well two planning meetings and several texts/emails etc) and have asked me very pertinent questions.  I know, too, that they appreciate the responsibility they have to 'get this right'.  But it will be fun... an all age extravaganza, with crafts for the kiddies and a communion liturgy created by some of the students themselves.

So, this morning my duties are:

  • set up the projection equipment (not something we use every week as our space is not ideal for it)
  • sing with the choir
  • take the role of the proud 'mum' watching her 'children' up on stage... (except that for certain minister friends of mine, this metaphor has some very unfortunate connotations)
  • make sure I pick up any negative remarks and divert all the compliments to the students

It will be fantabulous - I am looking forward to it greatly.  Go H,G,G,E,M,M,N,C and anyone I've missed!

I think it is also the last service one of our Africans will be at before he leaves, in which case I'll nip in at the end to pray him on his way.

The comments are closed.