Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Not Sure...

Today I FINALLY took myself off to the new Glasgow Riverside Museum about which I have heard mixed reports.  It was a pleasant enough half day out for my day off, and at only about 15 mins walk from home a really easy one.

A lot of people have commented that they don't like the fact that most of the vehicular exhibits are mounted on the walls, and I tend to agree.  I mean, c'mon I went looking for the Metro (sad loser that I am) and it was on the top shelf... We'll skip over the fact that it was a 3 door 1986 model, not a gorgeous 5 door 1985 or 1997 model, and that it was egg-shell blue not midnight blue... ;-)  More disappointing was the number of really old, genuinely interesting vehicles on high shelves.  It felt more like a shoe shop than a transport museum!

One of the most popular aspects of the museum is the recreated streets.  The 'earliest' late 19th century one is super, but the two so-called streets for the 20th century were rather disappointing.  Given that it allegedly went up the the 1960s and 70s I expected to see more things I recognised... beyond a red phone box, some lego and ladybird books.

OK, so criticism is easy and cheap.  I did enjoy my morning there.  The museum is spacious and airy with plenty for children to do whilst there.  Views over and along the Clyde are superb (despite the weather being dreadful) and in summer there are plenty of picnic spots.  The cafe did a passable latte and the cake was perfectly acceptable and reasonably priced.

Because the weather was grim I opted to give a miss to the Tall Ship, but I will go back to see it.

Overall, I'm not sure about this as a transport museum.  It's a fabulous building, well-located and easy to get to, and I would go again... but not with the aim of seeing vehicles close up, for that I'd go somewhere else.

The comments are closed.