Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Shrove Tuesday

The very first Shrove Tuesday I can recall was when I was just five years old and we had a day off school.  Why?  because at that stage I was at school in Olney, home of the famous annual pancake race. I remember nothing about the day, we certainly didn't go into Olney to see it, as we lived in a tiny village a few miles away, had no car, and it wasn't the day that buses ran (Wednesdays and Saturdays as far as I can recall).  I have no idea if we had pancakes (crepes) or pancakes (drop scones) at all.  Somehow I imagine in a household with four children, the eldest of whom was five, making pancakes was not even on the horizon that day!

A few years later, and living by now in Northamptonshire, we learned about the history and significance of Shrove Tuesday at school.  To this day I recall hearing about people going to the priest to be 'shriven', of the rush to consume alll that was 'fat' ahead of the long Lenten fast.

From the age of 15, with one exception (last year, when frankly I forgot until too late) I have 'given up' for Lent various degrees of luxury... the first year sugar in drinks (to which I never returned), usually sweets and chocolate, frequently cakes, biscuits and desserts, for at least fifteen years caffeine.  This year I am planning to revert to my middle course - no sweet stuff - and add to it no crisps or other frivolous, empty-calorie treats.  And instead I will be 'counting my blessings' with Christian Aid, another Lenten disicpline I've adopted over a number of years.

I have lost count of the number of Girls' Brigade pancake parties I've been involved with - one of the few occasions I stay out of the kitchen as pancake tossing is not a skill of mine - and I never tire of the fun the girls have stuffing their faces with as many as they possibly can (even if someone will always say in a whiny voice 'I don't like it'!)

Not got any pancakes planned today - one batch of batter is too much for one person and I'm not about to pay inflated prices for an supermarket or bakery ones.  I expect the poancake shop along from church will extra busy, so I won't be calling there either.  It matters not, I have plenty of other 'fatty foods' to consume in the spirit of the day before Lent starts tomorrow.

Hope you have a good Shrove Tuesday, whatever it involves.

The comments are closed.