Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Lent Reflection (4)

Psalm 25 (again!)

Psalm 32

Matthew 9:2 - 13

 

Unsurprisingly, sin, confession and forgiveness continue to be the themes threading through today's readings. 

Psalm 32 takes me back to another 1980s worship song :

This is a song that has, at various points meant a lot to me... most recently I recall singing it to myself in the wee small hours when St Eroid induced insomnia fuelled my anxieties... and it links a teeny bit with where tomorrow's sermon goes (though I'm not telling you how!).

But for all I love the (re-)assurance of the psalms/song it is the gospel reading that strikes me most profoundly, not least because of where the lectionary compilers have chosen to start/end it:

And just then some people were carrying a paralyzed man lying on a bed. When Jesus saw their faith, he said to the paralytic, "Take heart, son; your sins are forgiven."
Then some of the scribes said to themselves, "This man is blaspheming."
But Jesus, perceiving their thoughts, said, "Why do you think evil in your hearts?   For which is easier, to say, 'Your sins are forgiven,' or to say, 'Stand up and walk'?  But so that you may know that the Son of Man has authority on earth to forgive sins"- he then said to the paralytic -"Stand up, take your bed and go to your home."
And he stood up and went to his home.

When the crowds saw it, they were filled with awe, and they glorified God, who had given such authority to human beings.  As Jesus was walking along, he saw a man called Matthew sitting at the tax booth; and he said to him, "Follow me." And he got up and followed him.  And as he sat at dinner in the house, many tax collectors and sinners came and were sitting with him and his disciples.  When the Pharisees saw this, they said to his disciples, "Why does your teacher eat with tax collectors and sinners?"  But when he heard this, he said, "Those who are well have no need of a physician, but those who are sick. Go and learn what this means, 'I desire mercy, not sacrifice.' For I have come to call not the righteous but sinners." Matthew 9; 2 - 13 NRSV

This ought to be a pretty shocking reading... a northern rabbi claiming divine power to forgive sin, a tax-gatherer abandoning his career to go with him and the two of them (plus others) heading off to eat dinner with people who sinned.  It is the last sentence, the sting in the tale, that strikes me... go and learn what it means that mercy is more important than sacrifice... a right heart trumps right religious practices.  That's all... just mercy over judgement.  Just the recognition of our own need of God's mercy leading us to be merciful to others. 

This week I have seen/heard some strong judgements being passed and have felt uncomfortable because on the one hand I am called to be merciful and on the other I want to challenge what is said.  This week I have recognised again within myself imperfection and partiality... how much easier to be merciful and gracious to people who are gracious and merciful.  This week I have pondered afresh how sometimes it is kinder to be tough than gentle.  "Go and learn what this means..." that feels like a life-time challenge.

 

Go and learn what this means...

'I desire mercy not scarfice'

 

What is this mercy Lord?

What does it mean?

It can't mean that I never challenge what seems to be wrong in the world...

But perhaps it means I recognise my own propensity to sin

Perhaps it means I recognise the partiality of my own heart

Perhaps it means I recognise my complicity in corporate sin

Of the church

Of my nation

Of all humankind

 

What is this mercy Lord?

What does it mean?

How do I remove the log from my own eye

Rather than spotting the speck of dust in another's?

How do I overcome the temptation to throw stones

Forgetting I live in house of glass?

How do I discover the complex interplay of

Naming

Confessing

Forgiving

Merciful responding?

 

Not sacrifice

Not the offering of money or time

Not the shedding of blood

Not the perfection of religious ritual

Mercy

Be merciful because God is merciful

 

In the place where I live..

In the place where I work...

In the land I call home...

In the world of which I am part...

Lord, show me the way of mercy

Show me the way of grace

And lead me onwards, with you

Amen

 

The comments are closed.