Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Eh?

Sign seen in the place where this evening's service was held:

CHINESE

BURNS

SUPPER

So how do you read it?

a) A person from China overcooks the evening meal?

b) Some obscure ceremony whereby those attending the evneing meal are subjected to a 'chinese burn'

c) A combined Burns Supper and Chinese New Year celebration?

 

It was, as we all undoubtedly guessed, (c) but I'm afraid (b) came to my mind, and when I pointed out the potential confusion to someone they thought I meant (a).

As the saying goes, 'what does it say, how do you read it?'

Comments

  • LOL, Catriona! I've sussed this comment thing - keep it short! :-)

  • Thanks P. Short - or no paragraph breaks - seems to work more often

  • Sue's comment did't work. Abbrev. version here. She thought (b) too. Haggis and sweet & sour sauce????!

The comments are closed.