Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Lent Reflections (22)

Today's readings:

Psalm 84

Ezra 6:1-16

Mark 11:15-19

Still with our Temple theme, we have the account of Darius undertaking the rebuilding of the Temple which had been destroyed under Nebuchadnezzar (a name I always enjoy typing!) and we have Jesus overturning the tables in the Temple.  Very contrasting stories, which serve as reminder about our attitudes to buildings. 

One of the dangers of my largely 'functionalist' if such a word exists, views of church premises, is that we can become lazy and cavalier in our attitude to them.  I suspect I confuse people with the hotchpotch of contrdictions I express.  I get annoyed when dead light bulbs aren't replaced, when coats and bags are heaped on available surfaces, when things are left lying around so that anyone coming to worship enters an untidy room.  I am known to realign table cloths, adjust seating, centre symbols (yes, very anal, I know) to create a mood, a moment.  At the same time, I am untroubled by oft-repaired battered hymnbooks, by chairs with wonky legs, by children wandering during prayers (a rare occurence).  I like to think that I know what I am about, that I have a way of making a meaningful act of worship without being obssessive about the material, of beauty without idolatry, of pragmatism with utility.  Or something like that.

The two stories maybe express something of the tension I sense, as well as others. 

The Ezra affirms the place of building something beautiful for God, it allows for luxurious cathedrals built at great financial and human cost.  The beautiful house of God, inspiring awe, has its place, so long as it does not become the object of adulation or the vehicle of oppression. 

The Mark takes us in another direction, a confusing one that has less to do with the selling of animals and more to do with the purpose of the Temple.  In a bizarre conflation of religious legalism, we find a market set up in the only part of the Temple where foreigners are permitted to worship.  People needed animals, that was fine.  People possibly needed to change their money to a common currency.  People also came to pray.  I suppose the issue, really, was how the legalistic desire to avoid taint from the world actually became an obstacle to welcoming those who came from the world seeking God.  No dirty money.  Not just any old sheep or pigeon picked up in the street.  Only the best, the cleanest, the ritually correct, for God.  And this desire for purity failed, it became a barrier, a stumbling block.

All of which makes me think.  What self-rightousness or attitude of mine leads to actions which deny others access to God?  If Jesus wandered in to my church one Sunday morning, how would he react?

 

Let us build a house where love can dwell

And all can safely live

A place where saints and sinners tell

How love learns to forigve

Built of hopes and dreams and laughter

Rock of truth and vault of grace

Here the love of God shall end divisions

All are welcome

All are welcome

All are welcome in this place... (1)

 

All welcome, Lord?

Everyone?

The ones who don't understand the way I do?

The ones who don't beleive what I believe?

The ones I think are wrong?

The ones whose life styles challenge my understanding of righteousness?

All are welcome in this place...

 

A stumbling block, Lord?

Me?

With my fear of offending anyone and loinging to be liked

With my desire to agree to disagree and not try to change their minds

With my delight in diversity and my commitment to creative tension

With my sense that that this is all bigger and more than I can ever know or understand?

All are welcome in this place...

 

For just and unjust a place at the table

Abuser, abused, with the need to forgive

In anger, in hurt, a mindset of mercy

For just and unjust, a new way of life

And God will delight, when we are creators of justice and joy

Yes, God will delight, when we are creators of justice, justice and joy... (2)

 

So Lord, that's what you mean, then

A stretching so wide it hurts?

An embrace that looks like crucifision - arms flung wide, hands nailed in place

The scourging

The jibes

The dying to live?

 

All welcome...

Academic, illeterate

Vagrant, vain

Well, unwell

Sinner, saint

Refugee, rebel, rioter

Pimp, paedophile, prostitute

Dealer, addict,

Abuser, abused

-phobe and -phile

All welcome... and having a place at your table

Your table

In your house

 

Lord, can it be so?

May it be so...


(1) Marty Haugen GIA Publications Inc.

(2) Shirley Erena Murray (c) Hope Publishing Company

The comments are closed.