Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Elastic Limits? Brittle Transitions?

There is in physics, or chemistry, or materials science, or all three, the concept of an elastic limit.  It runs very crudely thus - you can stretch something by so much and when you let go it returns to its original length and state.  If you stretch it beyond its elastic limit, it cannot do this, it is damaged, weakened and unable to fulfil its intended role.  Usually, from my limited experience of experiments related to this, the yield point occurs close to one end, not exactly in the middle.  You could try it, I suppose, with a rubber band, keeping on stretching it just a bit further and a bit further until it breaks.  I am wondering if there is an analogy here for churches that endeavour to be broad?  Is it possible to stretch too far or too often, and so lead to inevitably snapping off of some part?

There is another concept, the ductile-brittle transtion that occurs in some metals at certain temperatures, and was, if anyone is vaguely interested, the flaw in the design of the Liberty Ships.  Essentially, above this temprature, metals are ductile, bendable, malleable, shapeable.  Below this temperature they are hard, brittle, fragile, easily snapped and broken.  Is there maybe an analogy here for churches attempting to tackle thorny topics?  How do we keep ourselves ductile rather than brittle?  Is such a transition inevitable under certain 'temperatures' or can we find ways to remain ductile?

When I read or hear stuff in the media about churches at the moment, it all feels very polarised, lots of brittleness, lots of talk of limits being reached.  I find, too, that I become more hard and spikey in my responses... is it possible to remain stretchy without snapping?  Is it possible to avoid the chill of the transition to brittleness?  Is the good ship Liberty in Christ doomed to break up in a sea of disagreement?

I wish I had some answers... instead I try to focus on doing what God has called me to do, being who God has called me to be, and hoping that's good enough.

The comments are closed.