Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Lent Reflections (23)

Passing the half way mark, and into the fourth week of Lent now.

Today's diverse and intriguing selection of passages is

Psalm 107:1-3, 17-22
Genesis 9:8-17
Ephesians 1:3-6

As it happens, I read them in GNB as that is the default version on the software I happen to have on this computer.  I'd love to check a whole heap of translation but the two online tools I use - Bible Gateway and Oremus - seem to be 'down' today (see* at end of post)  And I am way too lazy to drag several big Bibles off my shelves to read what they say, but have checked a couple.  Obviously the key message is identical, but nuances vary.

Of the three, it was the psalm, or part psalm, that caught my attention, especially the beginning of verse 17...

Some were fools, suffering because of their sins and because of their evil;
they couldn't stand the sight of food and were close to death.
Then in their trouble they called to the LORD, and he saved them from their distress.
He healed them with his command and saved them from the grave.
They must thank the LORD for his constant love, for the wonderful things he did for them.
They must thank him with sacrifices, and with songs of joy must tell all that he has done.

Psalm 107: 17 -22 GNB

"Some were fools..."

CEV says, 'some of you were foolish...'

NRSV says, 'some were sick through their sinful ways, and because of their iniquities endured affliction'

NIV says, 'some became fools...'

Hebrew interlinear would give something like, 'because of their iniquity through the way of fools...'

Interesting.  At one extreme, GNB and NIV, people are called fools, at the other, NRSV, no such attribute is assigned, in between lies the Hebrew and CEV, which denote foolishness.  The distinction between terming a person a 'fool' and their actions 'foolish' is subtle but important.  Especially since there are the scary words of Jesus in the Matthew 5:22

"But I tell you that anyone who is angry with a brother or sister will be subject to judgment. Again, anyone who says to a brother or sister, 'Raca,' is answerable to the Sanhedrin. But anyone who says, 'You fool!' will be in danger of the fire of hell." NIV, inclusivised.

Lots of Bibles have a footnote here, because 'fool' is a word used carelessly and casually in contemporary English, suggesting stupidity, ignorance, daftness, silliness etc.  But for the first century hearers, so we are told, it meant 'some one who was morally deficient'.  And so we also need to heed Matthew 7:1-2

“Do not judge, or you too will be judged. For in the same way you judge others, you will be judged, and with the measure you use, it will be measured to you."

To say nothing of the line on the Lord's Prayer that trips so readily from our tongues... forgive our sins as we forgive...

Do I do or say things that may be construed 'foolish' in an everyday sense?  Undoubtedly.  Does that make me 'a fool'?  I kind of hope not.

Do I say or do, or not say or not do, things that render me morally deficient, things that could be construed 'sin' daily.  Alas, if not the kind of things that will ever make tabloid headlines, then yes, I do.  Am I sinner?  Of course I am.

But... if I take seriously what the Bible says, and specifically what Jesus says, I have no right to judge anyone else and assign them the title 'fool' or 'morally deficient' or a 'sinner' that privilege lies with God alone.  That means those whose actions or in-actions I perceive as sin-filled.  Perhaps I am permitted to express my disquiet, but I have no right to pronounce judgement.  I am in danger hear of tying myself into theological knots!  Surely sin should be named - injustice, idolatry, greed, lust, etc, etc.  Yes, it should.  But not as if I am judge, jury and executioner.  Oh dear, I have rambled along and ended up no clearer than when I began... I really am a wandering Aramean in a wilderness of bewilderment...


Name Un-named, God beyond defining


How easily words trip from my tongue


How readily words like 'fool' or 'idiot' are uttered

And cannot be withdrawn


How quickly I cause damage with carelessness of language

(or am hurt by that of others)


How smoothly I slide into judgementalism

That I am somehow morally superior

To those who disagree with my understanding


How often I replay conversations in my head

'Should have said this'

'Wish I hadn't said that'


How do I find the balance?


How do I name as wrong that which I am convinced is wrong

And not condemn the person for whom that is not so?


How do I live with disagreement in a way that brings life

Rather than avoids confrontation?


How do I avoid foolishness - stupidity, ignorance, carelessness, callousness?


God who is Word

Transform my words

That Love may motivate each syllable I utter

That Grace may ooze from sentences I speak

That my anxiety and rehearsing of things said or unsaid

May be displaced

By prayer for those

With whom I speak.


*Bible Gateway now back up!

The comments are closed.