Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Pruning for Growth

Anyone who has known me for any length of time knows I am a bit of the John 15-aholic.  Although it was the good people of Dibley who chose to make banners based on it, I'm sure my pre-occupation with it was influential in that decision.  And I don't think there is a congregation I've worked with in the last umpteen years that hasn't been subjected to my take on it.  So I was delighted to spot this on the Beyond 400 website which echoes so much I have pondered and thought and said.

Pruning is, I am sure, painful for the poor plant, but it is necessary for its health.  It is fruitful branches that get pruned, not unfruitful ones - we need to name and clebrate past 'harvests' rather than simply consign to the 'bin' activities or practices that are now obsolete.  Only if people feel their past work is valued are they able to embrace the new.  It's a lesson I remind myself of from time to time.  Maybe as BUGB (and BUS and BUW et al) move forward, we need to keep it in mind too?

The comments are closed.