Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Lent Reflections (35)

Five full weeks into Lent and, to my amazement I have not (yet) tired of undertaking a daily biblcal reflection.  Today's readings seem very upbeat, rich in promises...

Psalm 119:9-16
Isaiah 44:1-8
Acts 2:14-24

The excerpt from Acts 2 is part of the Pentecost story... I find it a tad odd having post resurrection stuff during Lent, sure, chronologically we are 'this side of Calvary' but liturgically we are 'that side' of it.  I get irritated when during Lent people race too far ahead, are too eager to focus on the happy and celebratory rather than entering the struggle and darkness it requires.  However, to be fair, the Acts portion, read out of its literal context, is a reflection on ancient prophecy being fulfilled, and works as part of a package of hope-filled promises.

It's the Isaiah that drew my attention though...

The LORD says, "Listen now, Israel, my servant, my chosen people, the descendants of Jacob.  I am the LORD who created you; from the time you were born, I have helped you. Do not be afraid; you are my servant, my chosen people whom I love.  I will give water to the thirsty land and make streams flow on the dry ground. I will pour out my spirit on your children and my blessing on your descendants.  They will thrive like well-watered grass, like willows by streams of running water.   One by one, people will say, 'I am the LORD's.' They will come to join the people of Israel. They each will mark the name of the LORD on their arms and call themselves one of God's people."


The LORD, who rules and protects Israel, the LORD Almighty, has this to say: "I am the first, the last, the only God; there is no other god but me. Could anyone else have done what I did? Who could have predicted all that would happen from the very beginning to the end of time?   Do not be afraid, my people! You know that from ancient times until now I have predicted all that would happen, and you are my witnesses. Is there any other god? Is there some powerful god I never heard of ?"

Isaiah 44: 1 - 8 GNB

A quick look at other translations suggests some fairly heavy interpretation going on in the GNB, but that's the one I happened to read so that's the one I'll go with.  Here's the bit that struck me...


One by one, people will say, 'I am the LORD's.' They will come to join the people of Israel.

What a lovely image.  It has a sense of gentleness about it.  Nothing rushed or forced, no sense of 'if you died tonight where would you spend eternity', no guilt-tripping.  Just a steady and certain transformation as the Spirit of God waters the hidden seed of faith.  There is, pretty much, a feeling of inevitability, that takes away any anxiety, any urgency to proselytise all and sundry.  One by one people will come to know and name themselves as God's people... that's a lovely promise, and one to which I want to add my 'amen'.

 

I like that, LORD,

The one by one

Unrushed inevitability

 

I like the idea that your Spirit

Like water in a dry land

Brings to life -

For the first time, or the umpteenth time -

The seed of faith that lies deep within

Each

And every

One.

 

I like the fact that the seed

Dead and buried in dry earth

Holds potential

Released by your activity

To blossom and grow

Delighting the eye with beauty

Thrilling the senses with fragrance

Spreading shelter and shade for the smallest

 

I like that in the midst of struggle

In the darkest moments of despair

That stream still flows

If reduced to a trickle

 

I like that one day

Even the tiniest stream

Becomes a river

And every river

Becomes part of the ocean...

The great sea of your love

In which we swim

For eternity.

The comments are closed.