Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Tuesday of Holy Week

Better late than never!

Isaiah 49:1-7
Psalm 71:1-14
1 Corinthians 1:18-31
John 12:20-36

Psalm 71: 1 - 14

LORD, I have come to you for protection; never let me be defeated!
Because you are righteous, help me and rescue me. Listen to me and save me!
Be my secure shelter and a strong fortress to protect me; you are my refuge and defense.
My God, rescue me from wicked people, from the power of cruel and evil people.
Sovereign LORD, I put my hope in you; I have trusted in you since I was young.
I have relied on you all my life; you have protected me since the day I was born. I will always praise you.
My life has been an example to many, because you have been my strong defender.
All day long I praise you and proclaim your glory.
Do not reject me now that I am old; do not abandon me now that I am feeble.
My enemies want to kill me; they talk and plot against me.
They say, "God has abandoned him; let's go after him and catch him; there is no one to rescue him."
Don't stay so far away, O God; my God, hurry to my aid!
May those who attack me be defeated and destroyed. May those who try to hurt me be shamed and disgraced.
I will always put my hope in you; I will praise you more and more.

I've picked this passage as one that's less obvious than the others as a focus.  One that, when read in the context of Holy Week and what happened to Jesus carries a deep sense of irony, anticipating as it does the prayers of Gethsemane, yet with a very different aim...

This morning I met with my C of S colleagues who are using these lectionary readings for their Holy Week services and finding them frustrating - chunks omitted, timings all over the place.  Perhaps in a perverse kind of way that's not a bad metaphor for Holy Week - things are hectic and bewildering and out of order, Jesus turns our expectations upside down over and over again.  Today has been a little crazy, so please forgive the poverty of reflection, and instead of writing a prayer I've borrowed one.

Collect prayer for Tuesday of Holy Week:

O God, by the passion of your blessed Son you made an instrument of shameful death to be for us the means of life: Grant us so to glory in the cross of Christ, that we may gladly suffer shame and loss for the sake of your Son our Saviour Jesus Christ; who lives and reigns with you and the Holy Spirit, one God, for ever and ever. Amen

 

 

The comments are closed.