Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Wednesday of Holy Week

I think I have to start with an apology - yesterday's post was rubbish - done in a rush and with a sense of getting something up rather than nothing.  The only saving grace is exactly that - the grace of God who will somehow bring some meaning to someone through the words I quoted.  So today, which is a no less crazy day (and I've already realised I left something at home I need... what a good job there are oodles of charity shops round the corner) I have decided to post earlier and then concentrate on some service prep - Sunday is not so far off and I have not one word prepared!

Today's readings:

Isaiah 50:4-9a
Psalm 70
Hebrews 12:1-3
John 13:21-32

All are short, and most are very familiar.

The Isaiah speaks of scourging, and we read that in the light of Jesus trial before Pilate, failing to notice that the Isaiah has a victim found innocent, whose accusers disappear... something that, for me, seems to hint more towards the parenthesised accounts of grace at the start of John 8.  Jesus was, so we believe, innocent, clearly his accusers believed otherwise, for these were not bad people, but religiously orthodox, 'sound' conservatives who heard and saw blasphemy and insurrection.  Declared innocent by God does not mean humans will concur.

Psalm 70 ought to disquiet us - it begins a prayer for enemies to be confused and defeated.  Yet it shifts mood very quickly, and ends with a prayer many of us can echo: "I am weak and poor; come to me quickly, O God. You are my saviour and my LORD - hurry to my aid!"

Hebrews gives us the Great Cloud of Witnesses and the call to fix our eyes upon Jesus, whilst John has Judas committing to a path of betrayal.

I wonder which, if any of these resonates for you today?  It's no secret I am one of those who want to rehabilitate Judas, recognising in myself to make such enormous and drastic choices, yet still hoping God might forgive and welcome me.  It's no secret that I squirm at some of the psalmists' writings that call for God to smite the enemy or avenger.  I think it is maybe the verse from Psalm that stand out for me today:

I am weak and poor; come to me quickly, O God. You are my saviour and my LORD - hurry to my aid!

 

Today, Lord, I am busy and preoccupied:

Come to me quickly, O God. You are my saviour and my LORD - hurry to my aid

Today, Lord, I am conscious of my potential to betray you:

Come to me quickly, O God. You are my saviour and my LORD - hurry to my aid

Today, Lord, I know I skip over scripture without really reading it

Come to me quickly, O God. You are my saviour and my LORD - hurry to my aid

Today, Lord, I wonder what others will make of what I say or write or do

Come to me quickly, O God. You are my saviour and my LORD - hurry to my aid

Today, Lord, there are people for whom I am anxious

Come to me quickly, O God. You are my saviour and my LORD - hurry to my aid

Today, Lord, there are people about whom I am anxious

Come to me quickly, O God. You are my saviour and my LORD - hurry to my aid

Today, Lord, there are people who will test my capacity for grace

Come to me quickly, O God. You are my saviour and my LORD - hurry to my aid

Today, Lord, there are people who will show grace to me

Come to me quickly, O God. You are my saviour and my LORD - hurry to my aid

Today, Lord, there seems so much to do, and I fear fouling up

Come to me quickly, O God. You are my saviour and my LORD - hurry to my aid

Today, Lord, I so want to get it right...

Come to me quickly, O God. You are my saviour and my LORD - hurry to my aid

 

Today, Lord, someone will read this searching for encouragement

Come to them quickly, O God. You are their saviour and their LORD - hurry to their aid

Today, Lord, someone will read this longing for hope

Come to them quickly, O God. You are their saviour and their LORD - hurry to their aid

Today, Lord, someone will read this in need of your peace

Come to them quickly, O God. You are their saviour and their LORD - hurry to their aid

Today, Lord, someone will read this who is angry

Come to them quickly, O God. You are their saviour and their LORD - hurry to their aid

Today, Lord, someone will read this who mourns

Come to them quickly, O God. You are their saviour and their LORD - hurry to their aid

Today, Lord, someone will read this who is crying

Come to them quickly, O God. You are their saviour and their LORD - hurry to their aid

Today, Lord, someone will read this who feels empty

Come to them quickly, O God. You are their saviour and their LORD - hurry to their aid

 

Today, Lord, we come to you as we are

Come to us quickly, O God. You are our saviour and our LORD - hurry to our aid

The comments are closed.