Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Gideons

Today I had a short meeting with a couple of Gideons; they were basically trying to recruit new members as there are very few of them left in this area.

I have a soft spot for Gideons.  When I was thirteen I was given a Gideon New Testament... I still have it somewhere (I saw it the other day so it's not exactly buried).  For a long time I used the daily reading guide listed in it and dutifully read the allotted passages.  Whilst I'm not convinced it's the best way to read the Bible, it got me into practices that have served me well for something like (eek) 36 years.  I am pretty sure that being given my Gideon NT was a significant part of my faith story.

When I lived in Dibley, one of my congregation was a lifelong Gideon, an elderly man (well into his nineties) somewhat crusty but with a mischievous sense of fun and an indomitable spirit.  He was a great encourager to me in my time there, and I was pleased to support his work in Bible distribution.

So, even though I have difficulty with their stance on women (only men can be Gideons; only wives of Gideons can be directly involved) I retain my soft spot for them.  That they give out Testaments to any or all who will take them, without charge, without strings, is something I deeply admire.  To open the drawer of a hotel room, or locker of hospital ward, to enter an unfamiliar place and find 'my' holy book already there... that's a great gift.

The comments are closed.