Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Fullness of Life

Today's PAYG was based around John 6 and Jesus as the bread of life, but it made reference to John 10:10 and life in all its fullness.  The speaker said, in a lovely Irish accent, words to the effect of "Jesus said you'd have life to the full, so do you?"

That gave me pause for thought.

I often wonder quite what we mean by 'fullness of life', being more convinced I know what it does not mean than what it does:

 

Fullness of life does not equate to longevity

Fullness of life does not equate to wealth

Fullness of life does not equate to health

Fullness of life does not equate to success

Fullness of life does not equate to acclaim

Fullness of life does not equate to marriage

Fullness of life does not equate to family

Fullness of life does not equate to happiness

Fullness of life does not equate to busyness

 

Fullness is more about quality

Fullness is more about maturity

Fullness is more about mystery

Fullness is more about transformation

Fullness is more about love

Fullness is more about community/ies

Fullness is more about rolling with the punches

Fullness is more about choosing life, joy, hope, faith, laughter, friendship

Fullness is more about never quite getting there and always finding more to discover

 

I find myself reminded of the once popular prayer that ends "I asked God for all things, that I might enjoy life; I was given life that I might enjoy all things"

 

My life is pretty full - a diary bulging with meetings, events, conferences, holidays - but I hope it is also characterised by full-ness which is quite definitely a qualitative rather than quantitative measure.

Comments

  • Hi, this is great - I'm going to quote it in my sermon on Sunday (if that's OK - I'll credit you!). Simon.

  • Feel free - hope life at Bloomsbury proves all you dream of

The comments are closed.