Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Nicarauguan Peasant Mass c. 1979

When I was a ministerial student we were introduced to the Gospel in Solentiname - a Latin American peasant reading of scripture.  Today as I was playing 'pick the hymns' for our harvest service (in two weeks time) I found one or two items of Nicaraguan origin, one from the 'Misa Popular Nicaraguenese'.  When I Googled that, I found something else, La Misa Campesina - the Peasant Mass, also from Nicaragua and released as a recording in 1979.

 

Here is the Credo, as reproduced on that fount of all dodgy references, Wikipedia:

 

I believe in you, comrade,
Christ man, Christ worker,
victor over death.
With your great sacrifice
you made new people
for liberation.
You are risen
in every arm outstretched
to defend the people
against the exploitation of rulers;
you are alive and present in the hut,
in the factory, in the school.
I believe in your ceaseless struggle,
I believe in your resurrection

 

And here is the Gloria.  It is very much of its time, but still worth a listen. 

The comments are closed.