Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Epiphany

Twelfth Night, the twelfth day of Christmas, whatever you choose to call it... is today.

Last night I packed away all my decorations and took down the cards.  I have to confess that much as I enjoy having them up, I enjoy even more the 'quieter' feel that emerges once I take then down again!

So, today we mark the moment when, according to Matthew, gentiles of a totally 'other' worldview encountered the Christ-child, paradigm-shiftingly significant for the readers of this gospel, even if essentially the fulfillment of ancient expectations.

I'm not about to waste any energy on historicity debates, they are adventures in missing the point whichever side of the argument people take.  Myth, mystery, marvel - all of these and more in a tale so ridiculous it makes Eastenders look plausible.  A tale richly embroidered through time, with, each addition reflecting some insight into the complex hermeneutic that is midrash (or at least that's how it seems to me today!)

Whatever you may be doing today, have a good day.  A Happy Christmas to any readers who follow the Orthodox calendar (and to any on other calendars, it's not long now!)

Whilst looking for images online I found this one, among many, I hope you enjoy it and find something to ponder in it:

Pesellino-Journey-of-the-Magi-mid.jpg

Comments

  • I love Epiphany, though sadly the car let me down and I didn't make it to church. Sigh...

  • That's very disappointing Perpetua, hope the car is better soon.

The comments are closed.