Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Les Miserables

This afternoon my 'day off' treat was going to watch the film adaptation of the musical adaptation of Victor Hugo's novel.

One word: BRILLIANT!

I had enjoyed the stage version greatly when I saw in Manchester more than a decade ago (somehow we managed to wangle a deal where we got tickets for that and Phantom of the Opera for a really good price), but to my surprise, I think I did enjoy this more.

Superbly cast, with a clever blend of pathos and humour, some stunning scenery and wonderful music, it was quite simply a great afternoon out.  Rich in ideas about religion and faith, rule following and rule breaking, good and evil, life and death, hope and despair... I'm definitely glad I went to see it.

Mix that with a bit of spare room blitzing so that it now has space to install a desk ready to give me a sabbatical workspace, and it has been just lovely.  One happy bunny!

The comments are closed.