Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Interesting

Growing up where I did, the Wars of the Roses and the associated battle for the English throne were not just history, they were local interest.  The third and final primary school I went too had four 'houses' named Gloucester, Warwick, Lancaster and York after some of the key players in that process, and of course the Northamptonshire emblem is a Tudor Rose, the combination of those of Lancaster and York.  So for me, this is interesting at more than a merely intellectual level. 

The Battle of Northampton took place in what is now Delapre Abbey, a place I visited frequently as a child, and where in 1990 two oak trees planted as part of the town's charter 800 year celebrations (technically 1989) are memorials to my Dad - I recall tracking them down one cold autumn day and gathering fallen leaves as a memento. 

I've also spent many happy hours wandering the Bosworth battle field, and eaten a few Christmas meals in the cafe-restaurant there with the lunch club that Dibley BC ran for five years.

History - his story - and my story, overlapping and interconnecting in some small way.  Well it interests me!!

The comments are closed.