Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Mysterious Ways

Each week in Morning Worship, we have a psalm or an anthem, chosen by our Musical Director (sounds way more posh than reality, but he is absolutely BRILLIANT).  This morning we had one of my favourites:

I will be with you wherever you go.
Go now throughout the world!
I will be with you in all that you say.
Go now and spread my word!

Come, walk with me on stormy waters.
Why fear? Reach out, and I'll be there.
    Chorus

And you, my friend, will you now leave me,
or do you know me as your Lord?
    Chorus

Your life will be transformed with power
by living truly in my name.
    Chorus

And if you say: 'Yes, Lord, I love you,'
then feed my lambs and feed my sheep.
    Chorus

Gerard Markland (born 1953) © 1978 Kevin Mayhew Ltd

 

If memory serves correctly (it may not) this was the piece we used at the first service I took after I made my cancer diagnosis public; certainly it was used in a service around that time, and really spoke to my heart at a time when I was utterly terrified.  It feels pertinent that we sang it today, the second anniversary of my surgery, when I feel happy, fulfilled and very much alive. 

I am really miffed that I can't find a video or mp3 of this gorgeous piece online, so I can't share it with you, but maybe you can find a recording somewhere (for anyone in the know, a recording of the service will be on the Gathering Place website in due course.)

The comments are closed.